How to Be the Personal Representative
for a Small Estate

Note: Use these instructions and forms to be the personal representative
for a small estate.

Closing an estate can be very hard. There is a good chance you will need a
lawyer to help you through the process. These instructions and forms may
not be right for your case. They cannot take the place of advice from a
lawyer. Talk to a lawyer if you have any questions.

Print the forms in this packet single-sided, with writing on one side of the

page. Do not change these forms. If you change the forms, you might lose
language you need.

Who can use these forms?
You can use these forms if you: 7
I~
e Are 18 years old or older; L/

¢ Want to close the estate of a person who died;

i

e Have priority to be personal representative (read pages 5 and 6);
¢ Know the person died less than 3 years ago, but more than 5 days ago;
¢ Know the person died while living in Montana; and

e Know the estate is a small estate under Montana law.

Alternative: You may want to use a different forms packet called “How to
Use an Affidavit to Get Personal Property from an Estate” instead, because
it's easier. You can use that packet if the estate is (1) worth $50,000 or less
after you subtract liens and encumbrances, and (2) you do not want to use
the packet to transfer real property, such as land, a house, or a building.
Read that packet for more information.

What Makes an Estate a Small Estate?

In Montana, what is allowed in a small estate depends on who survives the person who
died. Under Montana law, a person “survives” someone else by living 120 hours longer.
It may be hard to deal with an estate where someone and his or her spouse or child

died close in time to each other. If a person lives less than 120 hours
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(5 days) after the first person dies, he or she is treated as if he or she died before the
first person. Ask a lawyer if you have questions.
< If a spouse or a minor or dependent child survives the person who died, the small
estate can include:

o A homestead allowance of $20,000 or less to go to the spouse, or if the
spouse doesn't survive, to be divided equally among minor and dependent
children;

o A family allowance of $18,000 or less;

% If a spouse or a son or daughter of any age survives the person who died, the
small estate can also include (in addition to applicable items above):

o Exempt property worth $10,000 or less.

% All small estates can include (in addition to applicable items listed above):

o Money needed to pay the costs of administering the estate;

o Money needed to pay reasonable funeral expenses; and

o Money needed to pay the reasonable and necessary hospital and medical
expenses for the last illness of the person who died.

Read more about how to give out these things below. When deciding how much the
estate is worth, subtract any liens or encumbrances. For example, if a lender has a
$2,000 lien on a car worth $5,000, the car is worth $3,000.

Note: You can use this packet only to close a small estate. If
the estate is worth more (after subtracting liens and
encumbrances) than what is allowed in a small estate, you
cannot use this packet.

What Is a Personal Representative?

A personal representative is an adult who has control over the property in an estate until
it is given to the next owner. As personal representative, you make a list of all the
property in the estate, protect and manage the property, sell property if needed, give the
property to the right people, and close the estate.

If you become personal representative, you might need to pay money to the court for a
bond. Most small estates don’t require bond. If there is a will, read it to see if it says
you have to pay a bond. Or another person with an interest in the estate of $1,000 or

How To Be a PR For Small Estate, Page 2 of 33, instructions and forms. © 2010 MT Supreme Court Commission on
Self-Represented Litigants and MLSA.. 06/10/2010. Revised by Flathead County Clerk of Court 6-30-2015



more could ask that you pay a bond. If you think you might need to pay a bond and
can't afford it, you can write a petition to the court asking the court to let you be the
personal representative without paying a bond. If you write a petition, tell the court why
you are trustworthy.

How Long Do | Have to Give Out the Estate?

You have a duty to give out the estate as quickly as you can, so long as you're doing
things properly and in the estate’s best interest. You may also want to give things out
quickly, so you aren’t responsible for them as long. At the latest, you must close the
estate 2 years after you are appointed personal representative.

What Forms Will | Need?

Use these forms to become a personal representative and close a small estate:
o Waiver of Priority and Nomination of Personal Representative (only if someone
else has equal or higher priority — read pages 5 and 6)
o Application for Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal
Probate of Will If Needed

e Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal
Probate If Needed

o |etters
¢ Notice to Heirs and Devisees

¢ Inventory and Appraisement

Al

e Full Accounting of Administration

o Personal Representative's Verified Closing Statement

e Deed of Distribution (if the person who died owned land or a house)

o Affidavit of Inability to Pay (not included in this packet, so if you cannot afford to
pay the fee the court charges to file your Application, ask the clerk of court for
this form)
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The Waiver of Priority and Nomination of Personal Representative must be filled in
and signed by anyone that has equal or higher priority to be personal representative
than you. Read pages 5 and 6 to learn what the priorities are.

The Application for Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and
Informal Probate of Will If Needed asks the clerk of court to make you the estate’s
personal representative. If there is a will, it also asks that the court will handle the will
without a formal proceeding.

The Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal
Probate of Will If Needed will be filled in by clerk of court or judge, except for the
caption that you will fill in. The Statement makes you the personal representative. It

also says you do not need a formal proceeding for a will if there is one.

The Letters will be filled in by the clerk of court, except for the caption and acceptance
that you will fill in. You can give the letters to other people to show them you are the
estate’s personal representative.

The Notice to Heirs and Devisees will be sent to people who get property in the will,
and to other people who may get part of the estate under Montana law. It tells them
that you are the personal representative.

/ " In the Inventory and Appraisement, you will list the estate’s assets,

how much each asset is worth, any debts owed on each asset, and the
value of the person’s interest in the asset. Examples of assets are land,
buildings, money, bank accounts, and furniture.

In the Full Accounting of Administration, you write how you gave out the assets that
you listed in the Inventory and Appraisement.

The Personal Representative’s Verified Closing Statement is a sworn statement you
will use to close the estate.

The Deed of Distribution is a document you will file with the clerk and

recorder to give land, a house, or a building to the next owner.
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Use the Affidavit of Inability to Pay to ask the court to not pay the fees the court
charges to file your Application. The form is not included in this packet. If you cannot
afford to pay the filing fee for the Application, ask the clerk of court for an Affidavit of
Inability to Pay. Courts may use different names for this form. The Affidavit will require
you to provide information about your income and expenses. The court will review your
Affidavit and decide if you have to pay the filing fee.

Who Has Priority To Be The Personal Representative?

Montana law says that some people have the right to be a personal
representative before others. This is called “priority.” Priority is
based on your relationship to the person who died.

This is the order of priorities:

1. Anyone named personal representative in the will of the person who died;

n

The living husband or wife of the person who died, if the person who died had a
will and the living husband or wife gets property in the will;

The custodial parent of a person who died under the age of 18;

Anyone who gets property in the will, if the person who died had a will;

The living husband or wife of the person who died, if there is no will;

The closest relatives or heirs of the person who died;

The public administrator;

© N o g bk ow

Anyone owed money by the person who died, if it has been at least 45 days
since the person died.

For example, a person who gets property in the will (#4 above) has a greater priority to
be the personal representative than the closest relative (#6 above).

Note: Someone else may have equal or higher priority than
you do. If a person with equal or higher priority will not sign the
waiver form in this packet, you will need to go through a formal
proceeding to be named personal representative. This packet
does not cover formal proceedings. If you need a formal
proceeding, it is a good idea to talk to a lawyer.
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Can | Be Paid for Being a Personal Representative?

If there is anything left after you give out the homestead

allowance, family allowance, and exempt property, you can be paid a
fee as part of the estate administration costs. You can be paid up to 3% of the first
$40,000 of the estate’s value, and up to 2% of any value over $40,000. For example, if
the estate is worth $45,000, you could ask for 3% of the first $40,000 ($1,200) plus 2%
of the value over $40,000 ($5,000 x .02 = $100), for a total of $1,300. You can choose
to ask for a smaller fee, or no fee. Itis up to the court to decide if the fee is reasonable,
depending on the work you did and the money left in the estate. You will say how
much, if anything, you claim as a fee on the Full Accounting of Administration form. The
fee is taxable income.

Note: If the estate includes property held as a life estate or in a joint tenancy, you may
only take up to 2% of the value of the life estate or the interest in the joint tenancy as
part of your fee. This means the 3% mentioned above would not apply to determine
that part of your fee, even if the whole estate is worth $40,000 or less. The 2% is not in
addition to the fee based on value of probate assets. It is part of the whole fee which

must be “reasonable.”

What Can | Take from the Estate to Pay an Attorney to Help Me?

p After you give out the homestead allowance, family allowance, and exempt
property, you can use money from the estate to pay an attorney to help you.
The attorney fees are part of the estate administration costs. Attorney fees
cannot be more than 1%z times the amount that you can take as your fee for

personal representative. This is true no matter how many attorneys you hire.
What about Taxes?

In general, closing a small estate should not require payment of federal
&;\ / or Montana state estate taxes. But there may be other kinds of taxes.

~ Cd For example, property taxes may come due on a house before you give
it to the next owner. If you don’t pay the taxes, the next owner will be responsible for
paying them. And you may have a duty as personal representative to pay the taxes so
the government doesn'’t take the property. You may need to use money from the estate
to pay the taxes. It is a good idea to give out the property before taxes come due, if
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possible. Tax laws can be hard to understand. Talk to an attorney or accountant if you
have any questions.

How Do | Use the Forms To Be Named Personal Representative?
1. Make Sure You Have Priority

[J Look for the will of the person who died. If you find a will, read it to \‘a[
see if it names a personal representative.

[ Read pages 5 and 6 to help decide if you have priority.

L1 If other people have equal or higher priority, ask each of them to fill in and
sign a Waiver of Priority and Nomination of Personal Representative. Make
copies of the blank form if you want more than one person to fill it out.

[ If one or more of the people will not sign the Waiver, you will need to go
through a formal proceeding, and you cannot use this packet.

2. Fill In the Application Form and Acceptance part of Letters Form
L] Fill in all the blanks on the Application for Appointment of Personal
Representative. The Application form must be filled in completely.

[J Attach the original will to your Application, if the person who died had a will
that he or she did not file with the court before death. Skip this step if there is
no will.

[1 Sign your Application in front of a notary public. When you sign the
Application, you are promising that it is true, including the parts you did not
write.

OJ Fill in the Acceptance at the end of the Letters form. Sign the
Acceptance in front of a notary public. e

3. Fill in the Captions for Other Forms
[1 Fill in the caption of the:
o Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and
Informal Probate of Will If Needed; and

e |Letters.
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[] The caption looks like this:

In the Judicial District Court of County,
(number) (county)

State of Montana

In the Matter of the Estate of Cause No.:

Dept. No.:

(filled out by court)

(name of person who died) '
Name of Form
Deceased.

4. Make Copies

[J After the forms are filled in, make at least one copy of any Waiver forms you
have, and your Application form.

[J After you fill in the captions, make at least one copy each of the Statement of
Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal Probate of Will
If Needed and Letters.

5. File Forms at the Courthouse
[] Go to the clerk of court's office for the district court in the

county where the person was living when he or she died.

(] If you can't afford the filing fees, ask the clerk of court for an Affidavit of
Inability to Pay. This form may be called something different in your court.
Fill in the form and turn it in.

[J Give the clerk the original and copies of your completed Application for
Appointment of Personal Representative and any completed Waivers you
have. Ask the clerk to stamp the papers as “Filed.” The clerk will file the
originals. Take your copies and keep them in a safe place.

[] Give the clerk the Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal
Representative and Informal Probate of Will If Needed, and Letters with your
completed acceptance. The clerk may use different forms. It is okay if the
clerk does not use your forms.
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6. Wait for the Clerk or Judge to Say You Are Personal Representative.

1.

What Do | Do After I'm Named Personal Representative? ‘tﬁj

[J The clerk or judge will decide whether to appoint you as personal

representative. If the clerk or judge appoints you, you will get a Statement
appointing you. This could be the form you gave the clerk, or it could be a
different form. Keep the Statement in a safe place.

If the clerk or judge appoints you, you will also get Letters. The Letters may
be the form you gave the clerk, or it could be a different form. You will have
already filled out and signed the Acceptance part of the Letters, saying you
accept the duties of being personal representative.

You can show a copy of the Letters and Acceptance to anyone who needs to

know that you are the estate’s personal representative.

If the clerk or judge does not approve your Application, you must go through a
formal proceeding to become the personal representative. This packet does
not cover formal proceedings.

L
‘.

A

Fill in and send out the Notice to Heirs and Devisees.
] Fill in the Notice to Heirs and Devisees.
[] Make enough copies to mail to the people listed in the next checkbox and to

keep one copy for yourself.

[J You have 30 days after the clerk signed the Statement and Letters to send

the Notice to Heirs and Devisees. Send a copy by ordinary mail to each
person who is left money or property in a will if there is one, and to each
person entitled to money or property under Montana law. Examples of people
who might be entitled to money or property under Montana law are surviving
spouses, children, and people who co-owned property with the person who
died.

2. Fill in the Inventory and Appraisement form, and mail copies.

[ You have 9 months to fill in the Inventory and Appraisement form and mail it

to people with an interest in the estate. It lists the assets of the person who
died, what they are worth, and if any debts are owed.
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Note: There may be assets in the estate that were owned jointly or that have
| beneficiaries. If someone jointly owned property with the person who died,
that property will go directly to the joint owner. Or sometimes a person will
designate a beneficiary for an asset, such as a bank account “POD” or
‘payable on death” The beneficiary should get the account directly. These
types of assets don’t need to be given out as part of the allowances. Before
you list an asset, be sure you know if it was owned jointly or if there was a
beneficiary. You can write that information on the Inventory and
Appraisement and the Personal Representative’s Verified Closing Statement.

[J You can get someone qualified to value property to help you, so

long as he or she doesn't have an interest in the estate. If

A

someone else helps you, write their name and address on the T

form.

[0 Make copies of the completed Inventory and Appraisement form. Make one
copy for each person you are mailing the form to, and keep one copy for

yourself.

[] Mail the copies to anyone with an interest in the estate. This includes anyone

who got the Notice to Heirs and Devisees.

3.Maintain the Property, and Sell Property If Needed
[] There may be property you need to maintain until you give it out

or close the estate. For example, you can shut off outside

faucets on a house so the pipes don't freeze.
[] As personal representative, you have the right to sell the estate’s property.
Show people your copy of the Letters with your acceptance if they want proof

that you are the personal representative.

Note: If you have a property with a lien or other encumbrance, it may make
sense to sell the property to pay off the debt. If you transfer the property
with the lien to a new owner, the lien will stay on the property. It may be a
good idea to talk with the people with an interest in the estate before you
decide what to do with each piece of property.
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4.Distribute the Estate

[] Follow the steps below to give out the estate’s money and property. When
you run out of money and property, you are done distributing the estate.
When that happens, skip to “What Do | Do to Close the Estate After | Give
Out the Property?” on page 13.

[] It is a good idea to write a receipt and ask each person to sign it when you
give them money or property. You could buy a receipt book. Or you could
just write on a piece of paper a list of the property you gave to the person,
and ask the person to sign and date it. That way, you will have proof that you
gave the person the money or property they were entitled to get.

[] If you are transferring a house, land, or building, you will need to fill out and
sign the Deed of Distribution form at the end of this packet. It is a good idea
to ask the current property holder or the clerk and recorder if you need a
Deed of Distribution to transfer a certain kind of property.

[J If you use a Deed of Distribution, you will file it with the clerk and recorder’s
office, which is different from the clerk of court's office. The clerk and
recorder will charge a fee for recording the Deed of Distribution. You can list
the fee as a cost of administering the estate.

[] Ask each person who will get property which property they want for each
allowance below. Count the fair market value of the items, minus liens and
encumbrances, to each allowance. If the person(s) can’t choose the property,
you choose for them.

Note: If there is a will, you can show it to people so they can see the wishes
of the person who died when they choose what items they want for each
allowance. Or, if you choose who gets each item, you can consider the will.
But you don’t have to follow the will to give out the allowances in a small
estate.

Sometimes a will mentions more property than the estate has when the
person dies. You can only give out what is actually in the estate. But you
can still follow instructions in the will that don’t involve money or property,
like what to read at the funeral.
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[[JHomestead Allowance. If there is no surviving spouse or minor or

dependent child, skip this step. If there is a surviving spouse, transfer the

homestead allowance of up to $20,000 to him or her. If there is no surviving
spouse, divide the $20,000 homestead allowance equally among any minor
or dependent children supported by the person who died. You can use any

money or property to make up the homestead allowance.

[] Family Allowance. If there is no surviving spouse or minor or ;;,'.('i,

)
w*
is to support the surviving spouse and any minor or dependent \k \j’

dependent child, skip this step. The family allowance of up to $18,000 (g,

child(ren) of the person who died while you take care of the estate.
You must give out the allowance in money, not in property. But if there is less
than $18,000 in cash, you can sell property to get the money. Or, if the
property left after the homestead allowance is exempt property worth less
than $10,000, you can give out the property under the next step. For the
family allowance, follow one of these three instructions, the one that best
matches your situation:

[] A surviving spouse will get the whole family allowance: (1) if there are no
minor or dependent children who were supported by the person who died,
or (2) if the surviving spouse now takes care of all of the children who
were supported by the person who died.

[] If there is a surviving spouse, but someone else now takes care of the
minor or dependent child(ren), you will need to decide how to divide the
family allowance between the spouse and child(ren) based on their needs.
You can give part or all of the family allowance directly to a minor child, or
to the person who now takes care of each child.

] If there is no surviving spouse, give the family allowance directly to the
child(ren), or to the person who now takes care of each child.

[J Exempt property. If there is no surviving spouse or child (of any 57
age) of the person who died, skip this step. [f there is a surviving %‘.

| S ]
spouse, transfer exempt property worth up to $10,000 in value to "Z7 ©
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him or her. |If there is no surviving spouse, divide the exempt property
allowance equally among the children of the person who died. In deciding
how much exempt property is worth, subtract any liens and encumbrances.
Exempt property includes household furniture, other furnishings, automobiles,
appliances, and personal items. If there is less than $10,000 of those kinds of
property, you can give out other types of property in the estate to make up the
rest of the $10,000 in value.

(] Administration costs. Pay the costs and expenses of administration of the
estate. These expenses can include:

[] Any fees you have to pay to close the estate, such as filing fees, fees
for recording a Deed of Distribution, and transaction fees for giving out
assets;

[ Any fees you have to pay to experts to appraise property;

[J Your fee for being personal representative, and any attorney fees (read
page 6).

[J Funeral costs. Pay reasonable costs for the funeral.

[] Medical bills. Pay reasonable and necessary medical and @_
O

hospital bills for the last iliness of the person who died.
—_—

IMPORTANT: If there are still assets left in the estate after you pay the
medical and hospital expenses for the last illness of the person who died,
the estate is not a small estate and you cannot close the estate using this
packet. Talk with a lawyer if this is your situation.

What Do | Do to Close the Estate After | Give Out the Property?

(] Fill in the Full Accounting of Administration form. Send a copy of the
completed Accounting form to anyone affected by it. You don’t have to send
out an accounting to a person who already signed a receipt saying he or she
got the money and property he was entitled to.
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[J Fill out the Personal Representative’s Verified Closing

Statement. You must sign and date this form in front of a

notary public. Make at least one copy after you sign.

[] File the Personal Representative’s Verified Closing Statement with the clerk

of court. Follow the instructions on pages 8 and 9 to file.

O Mail a copy of the closing statement to anyone who received money or
property and to any creditors.

Where Can | Get More Information?

The laws of Montana are called the Montana Code Annotated or “MCA.” The laws
about closing a small estate can be found in Title 72, Chapters 1, 2, & 3. An easier way
to write one of those laws is 3 72-1-101, MCA. The MCA can be found at your local

library or on the Montana State Law Library website at: www.lawlibrary.mt.gov. Click on

the “Laws” option near the top of the page on that website, and then click on “MCA.”

Where Can | Get Legal Help?

These organizations may be able to help you:
¢ Montana Legal Services Association (MLSA) gives free legal help to low and
moderate-income people. To find out if you qualify for MLSA, call the MLSA
HelpLine at 1-800-666-6899.

e The State Bar Lawyer Referral and Information Service (LRIS) refers people
to Montana lawyers who might be able to help. Call LRIS at 1-406-449-6577.

e The State Law Library can help you find and use legal resources such as
books, forms, and websites. You can visit the Law Library website at
www.lawlibrary.mt.gov. Or you can contact a Reference Librarian at (800) 710-

9827 or by email at mtlawlibrary@mt.gov.
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(your name)

(your mailing address)

(city) (state) (zip)

(your phone number)
Petitioner Pro Se

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of
Cause No.:

Waiver of Priority and
(name of person who died) ' Nomination of Personal
Representative

Deceased.

(To be filled out by person waiving priority.)
| am entitled to priority for appointment as personal representative under
Montana law, but | waive my right to appointment. | nominate (write name)

, a qualified person, to be personal representative.

Dated Signature:
(mm/dd/yyyy) (signature of person waiving priority)

| do hereby depose and say that | have read the foregoing and that the facts and
matters contained therein are true, accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge
and belief, and | declare under penalty of perjury and under the laws of the State of
Montana that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature
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(your name)

(your mailing address)

(city) (state) (zip)

(your phone number)
Petitioner Pro Se

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of Cause No.:

Application For Informal
Appointment Of Personal
: Representative and
Informal Probate of Will If
Deceased. Needed

(name of person who died)

| am asking this court to informally appoint me the personal representative for an estate.

The following facts support my request:
1. Information About Me

| am 18 or older.

Relationship to Deceased:

(for example — “Brother” or “Named in will")

2. Information About the Person Who Died

Name:

(name of person who died)

Age: Date of Death:
(age at death) (mm/dd/yyyy)

Address:

(address of person who died)

City: State: Zip: County:
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3.Personal Representative (check one box)
[] 1 do not know of any personal representative of the person who died

appointed in Montana or any other state.

OR

[] The existing personal representative signed a waiver of his or her priority,
which | either filed or am attaching to this Application. The existing

personal representative’s address is in the waiver.

4.Time Limit
It has been three years or less since the death of the person who died. Informal

probate is allowed.

5. People Interested in the Estate(Write in the names, addresses, and
relationships below for any surviving spouse, child, heirs, or people named in the
will to get property. Also write the age of any person under 18.)

Name of Person Address of Person Relationship to Age of
With an Interest in With an Interest In Person Who Died Person
the Estate the Estate (if the (examples: With an
person is a minor, write “Spouse” or Interest
“address omitted to “Friend, Named in (only if
protect minor child’s Will”y under 18)
privacy”)
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6. Will of the Person Who Died
The person who died: (check one box)

[J Did not have a will. | tried to find a will but | could not find any document
that could be the will of the person who died.
OR

J Had a will dated . To the best of my knowledge,
(mm/dd/yyyy)

the will was the person’s last will, was valid, and was not revoked. The

original will is attached to this application, if it has not already been filed
with the Court. (Attach the will if you found one.)

7. Demand for Notice

I do not know of any demand for notice of any other probate or appointment
proceeding about the estate of the person who died.

Legal Basis:

1. Jurisdiction and Venue / This Court is the proper venue because this is the county
where the person who died was living at the time of death.

2. Informal Appointment of Personal Representative / The clerk of district court has
the power to informally appoint a personal representative for this estate because the
person who died lived in Montana and died at least 120 hours ago.

3. Statement of Applicant’s Interest / The clerk can make the findings required by
Montana law, and may make me the estate’s personal representative because
(check all boxes that are frue):.

[ 1 have priority under § 72-3-502, MCA (read pages 5-6 of packet);
[] I am named as personal representative in the person’s will;

[ 1 am the surviving spouse of the person who died;

[J | am the custodial parent of the person who died;

[J 1am an heir or devisee, which means | have the right to get the person’s
property under the will or under Montana law;
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[J Anyone with the same or higher priority to be personal representative of

the estate has waived appointment in writing.
| respectfully ask this Court to:

1. Informally appoint me as the personal representative of this estate;
2. Give me authority to settle the estate using summary administration; and
3. Order any other relief the Court deems is just and proper.

Applicant declares under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Montana
that the foregoing is true and correct.

DATED this day of , 20

(your signature)

By signing, accepting, or acting under this appointment, | acknowledge that | will
assume the duties and responsibilities of a fiduciary and that | must work exclusively for
the benefit of the decedent's estate and its beneficiaries, the ward under any
guardianship, or the protected person under any conservatorship. | also acknowledge
that the primary duty of a personal representative, guardian, or conservator is the duty
of loyalty to and protection of the best interests of the estate, ward, or protected person.
Therefore, | acknowledge that:

I may not use any of the property or other assets of the decedent's estate, ward, or
protected person for my own personal benefit;

| must direct any benefit derived from this appointment to the decedent's estate, ward,
or protected person; and

| must avoid conflicts of interest and must use ordinary skill and prudence in carrying
out the duties of this appointment.”

Signed this day of , 20

Applicant (your signature)
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Peg L Allison

Clerk of District Court

Flathead County Justice Center
920 S Main, Ste 300

Kalispell MT 59901

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of
Cause No.:
, ORDER of Informal
(name of person who died) Appointment of Personal
Deceased. Representative
The application of for informal appointment as Personal

Representative having come before the court, and it appearing that the Application is
complete and contains the Applicant's oath or affirmation that the statements contained
therein are true to the best of his/her knowledge and belief, the Clerk makes the
following findings based upon said Application:

1. died on , and at

least 120 hours have elapse since Decedent’s death.

2. The Applicant is an interested person as defined by Section 72-1-103(25), MCA.

3. The Application is complete and properly verified as required by law.

4. Venue is proper for the reason stated in the Application.

5. Any notice required by Section 72-3-106, MCA, has been given, and the Application
is not witin Section 72-3-213(5), MCA. The time required for such notice, if any, has
expired.

The time limit for original probate has not expired.
A Personal Representative has not been appointed in this or any other county of
this state.

8. For the reasons stated in the Application, Applicant has priority under the law which
entitled him to act as Personal Representative of Decedent, and no reason to the
contrary appears upon the record.
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NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED as follows:

1. The Application for informal probate is hereby granted.
2. The Application for informal appointment of Personal Representative is hereby

granted, and is hereby appointed as Personal
Representative of the above-named Decedent, without bond.
3. Letters shall be issued to upon qualification and

acceptance.

DATED this day of , 20

PEG ALLISON
Clerk of District Court

By:

Deputy Clerk
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Peg L Allison

Clerk of District Court

Flathead County Justice Center
920 S Main, Ste 300

Kalispell MT 59901

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of
Cause No.:

. Letters

(name of person who died)

Deceased.

(The clerk fills in this page if you are appointed personal representative.)

was appointed as Personal Representative of

said Decedent by Order in the above proceeding dated the day of

, 20 . If there was a will, it was admitted to probate. Letters

of appointment as Personal Representative are hereby issued as provided by law.
WITNESS the clerk of court and the seal of the court affixed on
, 20

PEG L ALLISON
Clerk of District Court

(COURT SEAL)
By:
Deputy Clerk

ACCEPTANCE

l, , hereby accept and will perform the duties
of Personal Representative of the will and estate or the intestate estate of the
Deceased. Further | do hereby depose and say that | have read the foregoing and that
the facts and matters contained therein are true, accurate and compiete to the best of
my knowledge and belief, and | declare under penalty of perjury and under the laws of
the State of Montana that the foregoing is true and correct.

(your signature)
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(your name)

(your mailing address)

(city) (state) (zip)

(your phone number)
Petitioner Pro Se

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of
Cause No.:

Notice to Heirs and
(name of person who died) Devisees

Deceased.

1. This notice is being sent to persons who have or may have some interest in the
estate of who died on
(name of person who died) (mm/dd/yyyy)

2. The petitioner, whose name and address are at the top of this page, was appointed
personal representative of the estate on .

3. The personal representative was appointed (check one): [_] with / [_] without bond.

4. Papers and information relating to the estate are on file in the Montana 11th Judicial
District Court of Flathead County.

5. This estate is being administered by the personal representative under the Uniform
Probate Code of Montana without supervision by the Court. If you receive this
notice, you are allowed to have information about the administration from the
personal representative. You may petition the Court in any manner relating to the
estate, including distribution of assets and expenses of administration.

Date

(mm/dd/yyyy)

Personal Representative
(sign your name)
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Certificate of Service

l, , hereby certify that | served a true and correct copy of

the foregoing document was served by depositing it into the US Mail on

, 20 , postage prepaid, and addressed to the following
person(s):
( name)
(mailing address)
{city, state, zip code)
Dated this day of , 20
(Signature)
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(your name)

(your mailing address)

(city) (state) (zip)

(your phone number)
Petitioner Pro Se

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of

Cause No.:

Inventory and
(name of person who died) Appraisement

Deceased.

The appointed personal representative of Decedent's Estate is

(your name)

Below is the inventory and appraisement of the estate of the person who died as
required by Montana law: |
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Asset

(write each item or type of
property in the estate, such
as “1987 Ford F-150 truck,”

“General Bank joint
checking account”

“assorted clothes” or “25%

of Lot at 1111 Street.”

Write “None” if the estate
does not include the type of

asset listed in the charf)

Fair Market
Value

(write how
much each
item or type

of property is
worth)

Debts Owed On
Asset, If Any

(write any money
owed on the item
or type of
property, such as
“$300 lien by
Title Loan
Company”)

Value of Deceased’s
Interest Less Liens
and Encumbrances

(subtract the debts
owed from the fair
market value.
Multiply the answer
by the percent of
the asset owned by
the person who
died.)

House, Land or Building
Address:

Furniture

Clothing

Appliances

Bank Account
Bank and Type of account
(not number):

Automobile
Make:
Model:
Year:
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Asset

Fair Market
Value

Debts Owed On
Asset, If Any

Value of Deceased’s
Interest Less Liens
and Encumbrances

(List other property, with value, debts,

and value of perso

n’s interest, below.)

Appraisers (list the name(s) and address(es) of any qualified person(s) with no
interest in the estate who helped you figure out the value of assets).

Date;

(mm/dd/yyyy)

Signed:

(sign your name)

Printed:

(print your name)
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(your name)

(your mailing address)

(city) (state) (zip)

(your phone number)
Petitioner Pro Se

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of

(name of person who died)

Deceased.

Cause No.:

Full Accounting of
Administration

The appointed personal representative of Decedent'’s Estate is

(your name)

Below is the full accounting of administration of the estate of the person who died as
required by Montana law. | am sending this accounting to anyone affected by the

administration of the estate. | distributed the estate in the following order:

1. Homestead allowance of up to $20,000 of the estate, to a surviving spouse or,
absent a spouse, to the minor or dependent child(ren) of the person who died;

2. Family allowance of up to $18,000 of the estate, to a surviving spouse or, absent
a spouse, to the minor or dependent child(ren) of the person who died or the

child(ren)’s caretaker;

3. Exempt property of up to $10,000, to a surviving spouse or, absent a spouse, to

the child of any age of the person who died;

4. Administration costs of the estate;

5. Reasonable funeral expenses;
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6. Reasonable medical or hospital expenses relating to the last illness of the person

who died.

Personal Representative Fee (check one box and fill in the blanks that apply.)

[

I am claiming all or part of the personal representative fee. The estate’s entire
value was (write the value of the entire estate). $ . | can claim up
to 3% of the first $40,000 plus 2% of any value over $40,000. But | can only

claim up to 2% for any part of the estate owned as a life estate in or held in joint

tenancy by the person who died. For being personal representative, | am

claiming a fee of (write the amount of the fee you claim): $

| will write this amount as part of the estate’s distribution in the chart below.

OR

[] 1 am not claiming a fee for being personal representative.

document below, | waive my right to claim a fee.

By signing this

| distributed the estate’s assets as set forth in the chart on the following pages:

Asset

(write each item or type of
property in the estate, such
as “1987 Ford F-150 truck”;
this list should be exactly the

same as the list in the
Inventory and Assessment)

Person or People Who
Received Asset

(write the name of any
person who now has all or
part of each asset, such as

‘Seth Son--$2,000 of
money in account and
Diane Daughter--$2,000 of
money in account”)

Part of the Small Estate
Distribution (write if you
gave this asset out as part of
the homestead allowance,
family allowance, exempt
property, cost of closing the
estate, reasonable funeral
expense, or reasonable
medical expense)

House
Address:

Furniture

Clothing

Appliances
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Bank Account
Type:
Bank:

Automobile
Make:
Model:
Year:

(List any other property, with its new owner and part of the estate distribution, in the boxes
below.)

Asset Person or People Who Part of the Small Estate
Received Asset Distribution

Applicant declares under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Montana
that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date: Signed:
(mm/dd/yyyy) (sign your name)

Printed:

(print your name)
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(your name)

(your mailing address)

(city)  (state) (zip)

(vour phone number)
Petitioner Pro Se

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County

In the Matter of the Estate of
Cause No.:

Personal Representative’s
(name of person who died) Verified Closing
Statement

Deceased.

| am the Personal representative for the above-referenced Decedent's estate. This is
my sworn statement to close the estate:

1. As far as | know, the value of the estate of the person who died, subtracting liens
and encumbrances, does not exceed the homestead allowance, exempt property,
family allowance, costs and expenses of administration, reasonable funeral
expenses, and reasonable, necessary medical and hospital expenses for the
deceased person.

2. | fully administered the estate. | distributed and disbursed the estate to the people
who were entitled to it. If estate taxes were due, | paid them.

3. | have sent a copy of this closing statement to everyone who received any part of the
estate, and to all creditors or other claimants whose claims have not been paid and
are not barred. | have given a full account in writing of the administration to any
person affected by the administration of the estate.

Date: Signed:
(mm/dd/yyyy) (sign your name)

Printed:

(print your name)

| do hereby depose and say that | have read the foregoing and that the facts and matters
contained therein are true, accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief, and |
declare under penalty of perjury and under the laws of the State of Montana that the foregoing is
true and correct.

(your signature)
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DEED OF DISTRIBUTION

(This document does not go to the clerk of district court. Record the completed deed at
the clerk and recorder’s office.)

This deed is signed and delivered on by
(mm/dd/yyyy)(your name)

as the personal representative of the estate of ,
(name of the person who died) based on the following:

died on . Proceedings for
(name of the person who died) (mm/dd/yyyy)

administration of the estate were filed as Cause No. in the
(on court papers) (number)

Judicial District Court, County, Montana. The personal (county)

representative has determined the persons entitled to distribution of the estate
according to law.

To distribute the property properly, the person signing below, as personal
representative, assigns, transfers, and conveys to
, of

(person you are transferring the property to)
, all of the property

(address of person you are transferring the property to)

interests of the person who died in the real property in
(county where property is)

County, Montana described in “Exhibit A” attached to this document. (Print out a full
legal description of the property being transferred. Write “Exhibit A” on the printout of
the description. Attach the description to this deed of distribution.)

TO HAVE AND TO HOLD to the distributee(s), distributee(s)’ heirs,
successors, and assigns, forever.

DATED: , 20
(date signed)

Signed:

(sign your name in front of notary public)

Printed:
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(Rest of form to be filled out by Notary Public.)

STATE OF MONTANA

'SS
County of
SIGNED AND SWORN to before me on this day of , 20
by

(name of personal representative) '

Name (Printed):
(SEAL) Notary Public for the State of Montana
Residing at
My Commission Expires
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