Q: How can | comply with the law if a junk
vehicle has been abandoned on my prop-
erty?

A: Montana has specific laws regarding the
disposition of abandoned vehicles. Contact
your local law enforcement agency and re-
quest their help in contacting the owner or in
obtaining authorization to have the vehicle re-
moved.

Q: What are the penalties if | don't comply
with the junk vehicle law?

A: The junk vehicle statutes provide for crimi-
nal penalties of up to $250 and/or 30 days in
jail. Civil fines of up to $50 for each day of vio-
lation may also be imposed.

Q: Who can | contact for more information
or to arrange to have a junk vehicle removed
from my property?

A: You may contact your Board of County
Commissioners, County Sanitarian, or the of-
fice listed below:

Montana was one of the leading states in en-
acting junk vehicle legislation. Its primary pur-
pose is to control junk vehicles from being
scattered throughout the countryside,
thereby helping to help preserve the beauty of
our state. This program also provides for the
recycling of the junk vehicles collected so that
this valuable resource may be utilized again.
This program is paid for from the small fee
you are assessed when you license your vehi-
cle. The benefits of this program are available
to all Montanans; please use it.
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Q: What is the Montana Junk Vehicle Law?

A: In 1973 the Montana Motor Vehicle Recy-
cling and Disposal Act was enacted for the
establishment, control, operation, and licens-
ing of public and private motor vehicle wreck-
ing facilities. This law requires commercial
and county motor vehicle storage and wreck-
ing yards to obtain an annual license, keep
pertinent records and shield their junk vehi-
cles from public view. This law also requires
the control of junk vehicles at locations other
than motor vehicle wrecking facilities.

Q: Whatis a “Junk Vehicle’?

A: A junk vehicle is defined as any ‘‘dis-
carded, ruined, wrecked, or dismantled motor
vehicle, including component parts, which is
not lawfully and validly licensed and remains



inoperative or incapable of being driven”. A
vehicle must meet all three parts of the defini-
tion to be classified as a junk vehicle.

Q: Whatis a ‘“Public View”?

A: Public view is defined as “‘any point 6 feet
above the surface of the center of a public
road from which a junk vehicle can be seen’.
A public road is any publicly owned or main-
tained highway, street, road or alley.

Q: Do | have to shield my vehicles if I’'m not
in the commercial motor vehicle wrecking
business?

A: Yes, all vehicles which meet the three part
definition of a junk vehicle must be shielded
from public view.

Q: If | only have one junk vehicle do | need
to shield it?

A: Yes, all junk vehicles regardless of num-
ber must be shielded from public view.

Q: How can | shield my junk vehicles from
public view?

A: Youcan move the vehicle to alocation that
will shield it, such as into a garage or behind a
solid fence, hill or building. You may also con-
struct shielding using permanent fencing ma-
terials. Certain construction specifications
are required for proper shielding. If you intend
to shield your vehicles, contact the agency
listed on the back of this pamphlet for more
information prior to construction. Placing
tarps or plastics over the vehicles is not ac-
ceptable shielding.

Q: Can | do anything else other than remov-
ing or shielding the vehicle?

A: Yes, you may repair the vehicle to make it
operable, or license it. Either action will re-
move the vehicle from the classification of a
junk vehicle.

Q: What if | no longer want to keep the ve-
hicle?

A: If the vehicle has value from its parts, con-
tact a licensed private motor vehicle wrecking
facility. Most commercial wrecking facilites
will buy vehicles that have marketable parts. If
the vehicle’s value is low, they may haul it
away free in exchange for its parts. Some ve-
hicles have little or no parts value and the pri-
vate wrecking facility may not be interested in
buying or hauling it. If this is the case, contact
your local county junk vehicle program listed
on the back of this pamphlet. They will ar-
range to haul and dispose of your junk vehicle
at no charge to you.

Q: Do | need to shield items such as en-
gines, transmissions, and fenders?

A: Yes, any component partof a vehicle must
also be shielded.

Q: Do | need to obtain a motor vehicle
wrecking facility license for my own junk ve-
hicles?

A: If you have four or more junk vehicles at
any one location or if you buy, sell or deal in
secondhand motor vehicle parts you are re-
quired to obtain a license.

Q: If have more than four junk vehicles and
decide | want to start dealing in used parts
who do | contact for licensing information?

A: Information on the requirements for obtain-
ing a Montana motor vehicle wrecking facility
license can be obtained from your County Sani-
tarian; the office listed on this pamphlet; or the
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