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How to Be the Personal Representative 
for a Small Estate 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who can use these forms? 

You can use these forms if you:   

 Are 18 years old or older; 

 Want to close the estate of a person who died;  

 Have priority to be personal representative (read pages 5 and 6); 

 Know the person died less than 3 years ago, but more than 5 days ago; 

 Know the person died while living in Montana; and 

 Know the estate is a small estate under Montana law. 

 

 

 

 

What Makes an Estate a Small Estate? 

In Montana, what is allowed in a small estate depends on who survives the person who 

died.  Under Montana law, a person “survives” someone else by living 120 hours longer.  

It may be hard to deal with an estate where someone and his or her spouse or child 

died close in time to each other.  If a person lives less than 120 hours 

Note:  Use these instructions and forms to be the personal representative 
for a small estate. 
 
Closing an estate can be very hard.  There is a good chance you will need a 
lawyer to help you through the process. These instructions and forms may 
not be right for your case.  They cannot take the place of advice from a 
lawyer.  Talk to a lawyer if you have any questions. 
 
Print the forms in this packet single-sided, with writing on one side of the 

page.  Do not change these forms.  If you change the forms, you might lose 

language you need. 

Alternative: You may want to use a different forms packet called “How to 

Use an Affidavit to Get Personal Property from an Estate” instead, because 

it’s easier.  You can use that packet if the estate is (1) worth $50,000 or less 

after you subtract liens and encumbrances, and (2) you do not want to use 

the packet to transfer real property, such as land, a house, or a building.  

Read that packet for more information. 
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(5 days) after the first person dies, he or she is treated as if he or she died before the 

first person.  Ask a lawyer if you have questions.   

 If a spouse or a minor or dependent child survives the person who died, the small 

estate can include:   

o A homestead allowance of $20,000 or less to go to the spouse, or if the 

spouse doesn’t survive, to be divided equally among minor and dependent 

children; 

o A family allowance of $18,000 or less; 

 If a spouse or a son or daughter of any age survives the person who died, the 

small estate can also include (in addition to applicable items above): 

o Exempt property worth $10,000 or less. 

 All small estates can include (in addition to applicable items listed above):  

o Money needed to pay the costs of administering the estate; 

o Money needed to pay reasonable funeral expenses; and 

o Money needed to pay the reasonable and necessary hospital and medical 

expenses for the last illness of the person who died. 

Read more about how to give out these things below.  When deciding how much the 

estate is worth, subtract any liens or encumbrances.  For example, if a lender has a 

$2,000 lien on a car worth $5,000, the car is worth $3,000.   

 

What Is a Personal Representative? 

A personal representative is an adult who has control over the property in an estate until 

it is given to the next owner.  As personal representative, you make a list of all the 

property in the estate, protect and manage the property, sell property if needed, give the 

property to the right people, and close the estate. 

 

If you become personal representative, you might need to pay money to the court for a 

bond.  Most small estates don’t require bond.  If there is a will, read it to see if it says 

you have to pay a bond.  Or another person with an interest in the estate of $1,000 or 

Note: You can use this packet only to close a small estate.  If 
the estate is worth more (after subtracting liens and 
encumbrances) than what is allowed in a small estate, you 

cannot use this packet.  
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more could ask that you pay a bond.  If you think you might need to pay a bond and 

can’t afford it, you can write a petition to the court asking the court to let you be the 

personal representative without paying a bond.  If you write a petition, tell the court why 

you are trustworthy.     

How Long Do I Have to Give Out the Estate? 

You have a duty to give out the estate as quickly as you can, so long as you’re doing 

things properly and in the estate’s best interest.  You may also want to give things out 

quickly, so you aren’t responsible for them as long.  At the latest, you must close the 

estate 2 years after you are appointed personal representative.   

 

What Forms Will I Need? 

Use these forms to become a personal representative and close a small estate:  

 Waiver of Priority and Nomination of Personal Representative (only if someone 

else has equal or higher priority – read pages 5 and 6) 

 Application for Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal 

Probate of Will If Needed 

 Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal 

Probate If Needed 

 Letters  

 Notice to Heirs and Devisees 

 Inventory and Appraisement 

 Full Accounting of Administration 

 Personal Representative’s Verified Closing Statement 

 Deed of Distribution (if the person who died owned land or a house)  

 Affidavit of Inability to Pay (not included in this packet, so if you cannot afford to 

pay the fee the court charges to file your Application, ask the clerk of court for 

this form) 
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The Waiver of Priority and Nomination of Personal Representative must be filled in 

and signed by anyone that has equal or higher priority to be personal representative 

than you.  Read pages 5 and 6 to learn what the priorities are.  

 
The Application for Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and 

Informal Probate of Will If Needed asks the clerk of court to make you the estate’s 

personal representative.  If there is a will, it also asks that the court will handle the will 

without a formal proceeding. 

 
The Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal 

Probate of Will If Needed will be filled in by clerk of court or judge, except for the 

caption that you will fill in.  The Statement makes you the personal representative.  It 

also says you do not need a formal proceeding for a will if there is one. 

 
The Letters will be filled in by the clerk of court, except for the caption and acceptance 

that you will fill in.  You can give the letters to other people to show them you are the 

estate’s personal representative. 

 
The Notice to Heirs and Devisees will be sent to people who get property in the will, 

and to other people who may get part of the estate under Montana law.  It tells them 

that you are the personal representative.  

 
In the Inventory and Appraisement, you will list the estate’s assets, 

how much each asset is worth, any debts owed on each asset, and the 

value of the person’s interest in the asset.  Examples of assets are land, 

buildings, money, bank accounts, and furniture.   

 
In the Full Accounting of Administration, you write how you gave out the assets that 

you listed in the Inventory and Appraisement.   

 
The Personal Representative’s Verified Closing Statement is a sworn statement you 

will use to close the estate.   

 
The Deed of Distribution is a document you will file with the clerk and 

recorder to give land, a house, or a building to the next owner.  
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Use the Affidavit of Inability to Pay to ask the court to not pay the fees the court 

charges to file your Application.  The form is not included in this packet.  If you cannot 

afford to pay the filing fee for the Application, ask the clerk of court for an Affidavit of 

Inability to Pay.  Courts may use different names for this form.  The Affidavit will require 

you to provide information about your income and expenses.  The court will review your 

Affidavit and decide if you have to pay the filing fee. 

 

Who Has Priority To Be The Personal Representative?  

Montana law says that some people have the right to be a personal 

representative before others.  This is called “priority.”  Priority is 

based on your relationship to the person who died.   

This is the order of priorities:   

1. Anyone named personal representative in the will of the person who died; 

2. The living husband or wife of the person who died, if the person who died had a 

will and the living husband or wife gets property in the will; 

3. The custodial parent of a person who died under the age of 18; 

4. Anyone who gets property in the will, if the person who died had a will; 

5. The living husband or wife of the person who died, if there is no will; 

6. The closest relatives or heirs of the person who died; 

7. The public administrator; 

8. Anyone owed money by the person who died, if it has been at least 45 days 

since the person died. 

For example, a person who gets property in the will (#4 above) has a greater priority to 

be the personal representative than the closest relative (#6 above).   

 
 

 

 

 

 

Note:  Someone else may have equal or higher priority than 
you do.  If a person with equal or higher priority will not sign the 
waiver form in this packet, you will need to go through a formal 
proceeding to be named personal representative.  This packet 
does not cover formal proceedings.  If you need a formal 
proceeding, it is a good idea to talk to a lawyer. 



How To Be a PR For Small Estate, Page 6 of 32, instructions and forms.  © 2010 MT Supreme Court Commission on 
Self-Represented Litigants and MLSA..  06/10/2010.  Revised by Flathead County Clerk of Court 2-20-2015 

Can I Be Paid for Being a Personal Representative? 

If there is anything left after you give out the homestead 

allowance, family allowance, and exempt property, you can be paid a 

fee as part of the estate administration costs.  You can be paid up to 3% of the first 

$40,000 of the estate’s value, and up to 2% of any value over $40,000.  For example, if 

the estate is worth $45,000, you could ask for 3% of the first $40,000 ($1,200) plus 2% 

of the value over $40,000 ($5,000 x .02 = $100), for a total of $1,300.  You can choose 

to ask for a smaller fee, or no fee.  It is up to the court to decide if the fee is reasonable, 

depending on the work you did and the money left in the estate.  You will say how 

much, if anything, you claim as a fee on the Full Accounting of Administration form.  The 

fee is taxable income.   

 

What Can I Take from the Estate to Pay an Attorney to Help Me? 

After you give out the homestead allowance, family allowance, and exempt 

property, you can use money from the estate to pay an attorney to help you.  

The attorney fees are part of the estate administration costs.  Attorney fees 

cannot be more than 1½ times the amount that you can take as your fee for 

personal representative.  This is true no matter how many attorneys you hire.   

What about Taxes? 

In general, closing a small estate should not require payment of federal 

or Montana state estate taxes.  But there may be other kinds of taxes.  

For example, property taxes may come due on a house before you give 

it to the next owner.  If you don’t pay the taxes, the next owner will be responsible for 

paying them.  And you may have a duty as personal representative to pay the taxes so 

the government doesn’t take the property.  You may need to use money from the estate 

to pay the taxes.  It is a good idea to give out the property before taxes come due, if 

Note:  If the estate includes property held as a life estate or in a joint tenancy, you may 
only take up to 2% of the value of the life estate or the interest in the joint tenancy as 
part of your fee.  This means the 3% mentioned above would not apply to determine 
that part of your fee, even if the whole estate is worth $40,000 or less.  The 2% is not in 
addition to the fee based on value of probate assets.  It is part of the whole fee which 
must be “reasonable.” 
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possible.  Tax laws can be hard to understand.  Talk to an attorney or accountant if you 

have any questions. 

 

How Do I Use the Forms To Be Named Personal Representative? 

1. Make Sure You Have Priority 

□ Look for the will of the person who died.  If you find a will, read it to 

see if it names a personal representative. 

□ Read pages 5 and 6 to help decide if you have priority. 

□ If other people have equal or higher priority, ask each of them to fill in and 

sign a Waiver of Priority and Nomination of Personal Representative.  Make 

copies of the blank form if you want more than one person to fill it out.   

□ If one or more of the people will not sign the Waiver, you will need to go 

through a formal proceeding, and you cannot use this packet.   

 
2. Fill In the Application Form and Acceptance part of Letters Form 

 Fill in all the blanks on the Application for Appointment of Personal 

Representative.  The Application form must be filled in completely. 

□ Attach the original will to your Application, if the person who died had a will 

that he or she did not file with the court before death.  Skip this step if there is 

no will. 

□ Sign your Application in front of a notary public.  When you sign the 

Application, you are promising that it is true, including the parts you did not 

write. 

□ Fill in the Acceptance at the end of the Letters form.  Sign the 

Acceptance in front of a notary public.   

 
3.  Fill in the Captions for Other Forms 

 Fill in the caption of the: 

 Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and 

Informal Probate of Will If Needed; and 

 Letters. 
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 The caption looks like this: 

 

4. Make Copies 

□ After the forms are filled in, make at least one copy of any Waiver forms you 

have, and your Application form.   

□ After you fill in the captions, make at least one copy each of the Statement of 

Informal Appointment of Personal Representative and Informal Probate of Will 

If Needed and Letters. 

 
5. File Forms at the Courthouse 

□ Go to the clerk of court’s office for the district court in the 

county where the person was living when he or she died.   

□ If you can’t afford the filing fees, ask the clerk of court for an Affidavit of 

Inability to Pay.  This form may be called something different in your court.  

Fill in the form and turn it in. 

□ Give the clerk the original and copies of your completed Application for 

Appointment of Personal Representative and any completed Waivers you 

have.  Ask the clerk to stamp the papers as “Filed.”  The clerk will file the 

originals.  Take your copies and keep them in a safe place. 

□ Give the clerk the Statement of Informal Appointment of Personal 

Representative and Informal Probate of Will If Needed, and Letters with your 

completed acceptance.  The clerk may use different forms.  It is okay if the 

clerk does not use your forms. 

 

In the ____ Judicial District Court of __________________County, 
                (number)                                                   (county) 

State of Montana 

 

In the Matter of the Estate of 

 
________________________, 
   (name of person who died)                   

                                        Deceased. 

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  

 Dept. No.: __________________ 
                    (filled out by court) 

Name of Form   
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6. Wait for the Clerk or Judge to Say You Are Personal Representative.   

□ The clerk or judge will decide whether to appoint you as personal 

representative.  If the clerk or judge appoints you, you will get a Statement 

appointing you.  This could be the form you gave the clerk, or it could be a 

different form.  Keep the Statement in a safe place. 

□ If the clerk or judge appoints you, you will also get Letters.  The Letters may 

be the form you gave the clerk, or it could be a different form.  You will have 

already filled out and signed the Acceptance part of the Letters, saying you 

accept the duties of being personal representative. 

□ You can show a copy of the Letters and Acceptance to anyone who needs to 

know that you are the estate’s personal representative. 

□ If the clerk or judge does not approve your Application, you must go through a 

formal proceeding to become the personal representative.  This packet does 

not cover formal proceedings. 

 

What Do I Do After I’m Named Personal Representative?  

1.   Fill in and send out the Notice to Heirs and Devisees. 

 Fill in the Notice to Heirs and Devisees. 

 Make enough copies to mail to the people listed in the next checkbox and to 

keep one copy for yourself.  

 You have 30 days after the clerk signed the Statement and Letters to send 

the Notice to Heirs and Devisees.  Send a copy by ordinary mail to each 

person who is left money or property in a will if there is one, and to each 

person entitled to money or property under Montana law.  Examples of people 

who might be entitled to money or property under Montana law are surviving 

spouses, children, and people who co-owned property with the person who 

died. 

   
2.   Fill in the Inventory and Appraisement form, and mail copies. 

□ You have 9 months to fill in the Inventory and Appraisement form and mail it 

to people with an interest in the estate.  It lists the assets of the person who 

died, what they are worth, and if any debts are owed.    
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□ You can get someone qualified to value property to help you, so 

long as he or she doesn’t have an interest in the estate.  If 

someone else helps you, write their name and address on the 

form.  

□ Make copies of the completed Inventory and Appraisement form.  Make one 

copy for each person you are mailing the form to, and keep one copy for 

yourself.   

□ Mail the copies to anyone with an interest in the estate.  This includes anyone 

who got the Notice to Heirs and Devisees.   

 

3.Maintain the Property, and Sell Property If Needed     

 There may be property you need to maintain until you give it out 

or close the estate.  For example, you can shut off outside 

faucets on a house so the pipes don’t freeze.   

 As personal representative, you have the right to sell the estate’s property.  

Show people your copy of the Letters with your acceptance if they want proof 

that you are the personal representative. 

   
 

 

Note:  There may be assets in the estate that were owned jointly or that have 

beneficiaries.  If someone jointly owned property with the person who died, 

that property will go directly to the joint owner.  Or sometimes a person will 

designate a beneficiary for an asset, such as a bank account “POD” or 

“payable on death”  The beneficiary should get the account directly.  These 

types of assets don’t need to be given out as part of the allowances.  Before 

you list an asset, be sure you know if it was owned jointly or if there was a 

beneficiary.  You can write that information on the Inventory and 

Appraisement and the Personal Representative’s Verified Closing Statement. 

Note:  If you have a property with a lien or other encumbrance, it may make 

sense to sell the property to pay off the debt.  If you transfer the property 

with the lien to a new owner, the lien will stay on the property.  It may be a 

good idea to talk with the people with an interest in the estate before you 

decide what to do with each piece of property. 
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4.Distribute the Estate 

 Follow the steps below to give out the estate’s money and property.  When 

you run out of money and property, you are done distributing the estate.  

When that happens, skip to “What Do I Do to Close the Estate After I Give 

Out the Property?” on page 13. 

 It is a good idea to write a receipt and ask each person to sign it when you 

give them money or property.  You could buy a receipt book.  Or you could 

just write on a piece of paper a list of the property you gave to the person, 

and ask the person to sign and date it.  That way, you will have proof that you 

gave the person the money or property they were entitled to get.    

 If you are transferring a house, land, or building, you will need to fill out and 

sign the Deed of Distribution form at the end of this packet.  It is a good idea 

to ask the current property holder or the clerk and recorder if you need a 

Deed of Distribution to transfer a certain kind of property. 

 If you use a Deed of Distribution, you will file it with the clerk and recorder’s 

office, which is different from the clerk of court’s office.  The clerk and 

recorder will charge a fee for recording the Deed of Distribution.  You can list 

the fee as a cost of administering the estate.   

 Ask each person who will get property which property they want for each 

allowance below.  Count the fair market value of the items, minus liens and 

encumbrances, to each allowance.  If the person(s) can’t choose the property, 

you choose for them. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

Note:  If there is a will, you can show it to people so they can see the wishes 

of the person who died when they choose what items they want for each 

allowance.  Or, if you choose who gets each item, you can consider the will.  

But you don’t have to follow the will to give out the allowances in a small 

estate.   

Sometimes a will mentions more property than the estate has when the 

person dies.  You can only give out what is actually in the estate.  But you 

can still follow instructions in the will that don’t involve money or property, 

like what to read at the funeral.   
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 Homestead Allowance.  If there is no surviving spouse or minor or 

dependent child, skip this step.  If there is a surviving spouse, transfer the 

homestead allowance of up to $20,000 to him or her.  If there is no surviving 

spouse, divide the $20,000 homestead allowance equally among any minor 

or dependent children supported by the person who died.  You can use any 

money or property to make up the homestead allowance.  

    

 Family Allowance.  If there is no surviving spouse or minor or 

dependent child, skip this step.  The family allowance of up to $18,000 

is to support the surviving spouse and any minor or dependent 

child(ren) of the person who died while you take care of the estate.  

You must give out the allowance in money, not in property.  But if there is less 

than $18,000 in cash, you can sell property to get the money.  Or, if the 

property left after the homestead allowance is exempt property worth less 

than $10,000, you can give out the property under the next step.  For the 

family allowance, follow one of these three instructions, the one that best 

matches your situation:  

 A surviving spouse will get the whole family allowance: (1) if there are no 

minor or dependent children who were supported by the person who died, 

or (2) if the surviving spouse now takes care of all of the children who 

were supported by the person who died.   

 If there is a surviving spouse, but someone else now takes care of the 

minor or dependent child(ren), you will need to decide how to divide the 

family allowance between the spouse and child(ren) based on their needs.  

You can give part or all of the family allowance directly to a minor child, or 

to the person who now takes care of each child. 

 If there is no surviving spouse, give the family allowance directly to the 

child(ren), or to the person who now takes care of each child. 

 

□ Exempt property.  If there is no surviving spouse or child (of any 

age) of the person who died, skip this step.  If there is a surviving 

spouse, transfer exempt property worth up to $10,000 in value to 
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him or her.  If there is no surviving spouse, divide the exempt property 

allowance equally among the children of the person who died.  In deciding 

how much exempt property is worth, subtract any liens and encumbrances.  

Exempt property includes household furniture, other furnishings, automobiles, 

appliances, and personal items.  If there is less than $10,000 of those kinds of 

property, you can give out other types of property in the estate to make up the 

rest of the $10,000 in value. 

   

□ Administration costs.  Pay the costs and expenses of administration of the 

estate.  These expenses can include: 

□  Any fees you have to pay to close the estate, such as filing fees, fees 

for recording a Deed of Distribution, and transaction fees for giving out 

assets; 

□ Any fees you have to pay to experts to appraise property;   

□ Your fee for being personal representative, and any attorney fees (read 

page 6).  

 

□ Funeral costs.  Pay reasonable costs for the funeral. 

 

□ Medical bills.  Pay reasonable and necessary medical and 

hospital bills for the last illness of the person who died.  

 

 

 

What Do I Do to Close the Estate After I Give Out the Property?  

 Fill in the Full Accounting of Administration form.  Send a copy of the 

completed Accounting form to anyone affected by it.  You don’t have to send 

out an accounting to a person who already signed a receipt saying he or she 

got the money and property he was entitled to. 

IMPORTANT: If there are still assets left in the estate after you pay the 

medical and hospital expenses for the last illness of the person who died, 

the estate is not a small estate and you cannot close the estate using this 

packet.  Talk with a lawyer if this is your situation. 
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□ Fill out the Personal Representative’s Verified Closing 

Statement.  You must sign and date this form in front of a 

notary public.  Make at least one copy after you sign.  

□ File the Personal Representative’s Verified Closing Statement with the clerk 

of court.  Follow the instructions on pages 8 and 9 to file. 

□ Mail a copy of the closing statement to anyone who received money or 

property and to any creditors.   

 

 

Where Can I Get More Information? 

The laws of Montana are called the Montana Code Annotated or “MCA.”  The laws 

about closing a small estate can be found in Title 72, Chapters 1, 2, & 3.  An easier way 

to write one of those laws is ' 72-1-101, MCA.  The MCA can be found at your local 

library or on the Montana State Law Library website at: www.lawlibrary.mt.gov.  Click on 

the “Laws” option near the top of the page on that website, and then click on “MCA.”   

 

 
Where Can I Get Legal Help? 
 

These organizations may be able to help you: 

 Montana Legal Services Association (MLSA) gives free legal help to low and 

moderate-income people.  To find out if you qualify for MLSA, call the MLSA 

HelpLine at 1-800-666-6899. 

 

 The State Bar Lawyer Referral and Information Service (LRIS) refers people 

to Montana lawyers who might be able to help.  Call LRIS at 1-406-449-6577. 

 

 The State Law Library can help you find and use legal resources such as 

books, forms, and websites. You can visit the Law Library website at 

www.lawlibrary.mt.gov. Or you can contact a Reference Librarian at (800) 710-

9827 or by email at mtlawlibrary@mt.gov. 

 

http://wayback.archive-it.org/499/20130528185208/http:/courts.mt.gov/content/supreme/boards/self_represented_litigants/Local%20Settings/Local%20Settings/Temporary%20Internet%20Files/Content.Outlook/Local%20Settings/Application%20Data/Microsoft/Application%20Data/Microsoft/Local%20Settings/Temp/Small%20Estates/www.lawlibrary.mt.gov
http://www.lawlibrary.mt.gov/
mailto:mtlawlibrary@mt.gov
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_________________________ 
(your name) 

_________________________ 
(your mailing address) 

_________________________ 
(city)         (state)          (zip) 

_________________________ 
(your phone number) 

Petitioner Pro Se 
 

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

__________________________, 
     (name of person who died) 

                                       Deceased.  

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  

 

Waiver of Priority and 
Nomination of Personal 
Representative 

(To be filled out by person waiving priority.) 

I am entitled to priority for appointment as personal representative under 

Montana law, but I waive my right to appointment.  I nominate (write name) 

________________________, a qualified person, to be personal representative. 

 
Dated ______________Signature: _____________________________ 
              (mm/dd/yyyy)                        (signature of person waiving priority) 

  

 

I do hereby depose and say that I have read the foregoing and that the facts and 

matters contained therein are true, accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, and I declare under penalty of perjury and under the laws of the State of 

Montana that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  ______________________________________ 

  Signature 
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_________________________ 
(your name) 

_________________________ 
(your mailing address) 

_________________________ 
(city)         (state)          (zip) 

_________________________ 
(your phone number) 

Petitioner Pro Se 
 

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

__________________________, 
    (name of person who died) 

                                          Deceased. 

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  
  

Application For Informal 
Appointment Of Personal 
Representative and 
Informal Probate of Will If 
Needed 

 
I am asking this court to informally appoint me the personal representative for an estate.  

The following facts support my request: 

1. Information About Me 

 Name: _____________________________________________________ 
             (your full name) 

 
Address: ___________________________________________________ 
               (your mailing address) 

 
 City: _________________ State: _____ Zip: ________.  I am 18 or older. 
  

Relationship to Deceased: _____________________________________ 
                                             (for example – “Brother” or “Named in will”) 

  
 
2.  Information About the Person Who Died 

 Name: _____________________________________________________ 
              (name of person who died) 
 

Age: ____________Date of Death: _________________________ 
             (age at death)                                    (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 
 Address: ___________________________________________________ 

                (address of person who died) 
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 City: ________________ State: ____ Zip: ______ County: ____________ 
  
3.Personal Representative (check one box) 

 I do not know of any personal representative of the person who died 

appointed in Montana or any other state. 

 
OR 

 The existing personal representative signed a waiver of his or her priority, 

which I either filed or am attaching to this Application.  The existing 

personal representative’s address is in the waiver.  

 

4.Time Limit  

It has been three years or less since the death of the person who died.  Informal 

probate is allowed. 

 
5.  People Interested in the Estate(Write in the names, addresses, and 

relationships below for any surviving spouse, child, heirs, or people named in the 

will to get property.  Also write the age of any person under 18.)  

Name of Person 

With an Interest in 

the Estate 

Address of Person 
With an Interest In 

the Estate (if the 
person is a minor, write 

“address omitted to 
protect minor child’s 

privacy”) 

Relationship to 
Person Who Died 

(examples: 
“Spouse” or 

“Friend, Named in 
Will”) 

Age of 
Person 
With an 
Interest 
(only if 

under 18)  
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6. Will of the Person Who Died  

The person who died: (check one box) 

□ Did not have a will.  I tried to find a will but I could not find any document 

that could be the will of the person who died. 

 OR 

 

□ Had a will dated _______________.  To the best of my knowledge, 
           (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 the will was the person’s last will, was valid, and was not revoked.   The 

original will is attached to this application, if it has not already been filed 

with the Court.  (Attach the will if you found one.) 

 
7. Demand for Notice  

 I do not know of any demand for notice of any other probate or appointment 

proceeding about the estate of the person who died.  

 

Legal Basis: 

1. Jurisdiction and Venue  

This Court is the proper venue because this is the county where the person who 

died was living at the time of death. 

 
2. Informal Appointment of Personal Representative  

The clerk of district court has the power to informally appoint a personal 

representative for this estate because the person who died lived in Montana and 

died at least 120 hours ago. 
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3. Statement of Applicant’s Interest 

The clerk can make the findings required by Montana law, and may make me the 

estate’s personal representative because (check all boxes that are true): 

□ I have priority under § 72-3-502, MCA (read pages 5-6 of packet); 

□ I am named as personal representative in the person’s will; 

□ I am the surviving spouse of the person who died; 

□ I am the custodial parent of the person who died; 

□ I am an heir or devisee, which means I have the right to get the person’s 

property under the will or under Montana law; 

□ Anyone with the same or higher priority to be personal representative of 

the estate has waived appointment in writing.  

I respectfully ask this Court to: 

1. Informally appoint me as the personal representative of this estate; 

2. Give me authority to settle the estate using summary administration; and 

3. Order any other relief the Court deems is just and proper. 

      
DATED this ______ day of _____________________, 20____. 
 
 
  ____________________________ 
  (your signature) 

 
  ____________________________ 
  (your printed name) 

 
 
I do depose and say that I have read the foregoing and that the facts and matters 
contained therein are true, accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, and I declare under penalty of perjury and under the laws of the State of Montana 
that the foregoing is true and correct. 
 
 ____________________________ 
 Applicant   (your signature) 
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Peg L Allison 
Clerk of District Court 
Flathead County Justice Center 
920 S Main, Ste 300 
Kalispell MT  59901 
 
 

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

__________________________, 
    (name of person who died) 

                                   Deceased. 

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  
  

ORDER of Informal 
Appointment of Personal 
Representative  

 
 
The application of _________________________ for informal appointment as Personal 
Representative having come before the court, and it appearing that the Application is 
complete and contains the Applicant’s oath or affirmation that the statements contained 
therein are true to the best of his/her knowledge and belief, the Clerk makes the 
following findings based upon said Application: 
 
1.  _______________________________ died on ______________________, and at 

least 120 hours have elapse since Decedent’s death. 

2.  The Applicant is an interested person as defined by Section 72-1-103(25), MCA. 

3. The Application is complete and properly verified as required by law. 

4. Venue is proper for the reason stated in the Application. 

5.  Any notice required by Section 72-3-106, MCA, has been given, and the Application 

is not witin Section 72-3-213(5), MCA.  The time required for such notice, if any, has 

expired. 

6.  The time limit for original probate has not expired. 

7.  A Personal Representative has not been appointed in this or any other county of 

this state. 

8.  For the reasons stated in the Application, Applicant has priority under the law which 

entitled him to act as Personal Representative of Decedent, and no reason to the 

contrary appears upon the record. 
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NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED as follows: 
 

1. The Application for informal probate is hereby granted. 

2. The Application for informal appointment of Personal Representative is hereby 

granted, and _________________________ is hereby appointed as Personal 

Representative of the above-named Decedent, without bond. 

3. Letters shall be issued to _________________________ upon qualification and 

acceptance. 

 
DATED this ______day of _____________________, 20____. 
 
 
 PEG ALLISON _________________________ 
                Clerk of District Court 
 
 By: ___________________________________ 
         Deputy Clerk 
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Peg L Allison 
Clerk of District Court 
Flathead County Justice Center 
920 S Main, Ste 300 
Kalispell MT  59901 
 
 

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

_____________________________, 
    (name of person who died) 

                                   Deceased. 

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  
  

Letters  

(The clerk fills in this page if you are appointed personal representative.) 

_________________________ was appointed as Personal Representative of 

said Decedent by Order in the above proceeding dated the _______ day of 

___________________, 20____.  If there was a will, it was admitted to probate.  Letters 

of appointment as Personal Representative are hereby issued as provided by law. 

WITNESS the clerk of court and the seal of the court affixed on 

_______________________, 20____. 

 PEG L ALLISON 

 Clerk of District Court 

(COURT SEAL) 
 By:   
 Deputy Clerk 

 

ACCEPTANCE 

I, __________________________________, hereby accept and will perform the duties 
of  Personal Representative of the will and estate or the intestate estate of the 
Deceased.  Further I do hereby depose and say that I have read the foregoing and that 
the facts and matters contained therein are true, accurate and complete to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, and I declare under penalty of perjury and under the laws of 
the State of Montana that the foregoing is true and correct. 
 
 ____________________________ 
 (your signature) 
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_________________________ 
(your name) 

_________________________ 
(your mailing address) 

_________________________ 
(city)         (state)          (zip) 

_________________________ 
(your phone number) 

Petitioner Pro Se 

 
Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

__________________________, 
    (name of person who died) 

                               Deceased.                                          

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  
  

Notice to Heirs and 
Devisees 

 

1. This notice is being sent to persons who have or may have some interest in the 

estate of ___________________________ who died on __________________. 

                          (name of person who died)                                           (mm/dd/yyyy) 

2. The petitioner, whose name and address are at the top of this page, was appointed 
personal representative of the estate on ________________. 

 
3. The personal representative was appointed (check one):  with /  without bond.   

4. Papers and information relating to the estate are on file in the Montana 11th Judicial 

District Court of Flathead County.  

5. This estate is being administered by the personal representative under the Uniform 

Probate Code of Montana without supervision by the Court. If you receive this 

notice, you are allowed to have information about the administration from the 

personal representative.  You may petition the Court in any manner relating to the 

estate, including distribution of assets and expenses of administration. 

 Date ____________________. 
    (mm/dd/yyyy) 

  
 Personal Representative 
 (sign your name) 

 



How To Be a PR For Small Estate, Page 24 of 32, instructions and forms.  © 2010 MT Supreme Court Commission 
on Self-Represented Litigants and MLSA..  06/10/2010.  Revised by Flathead County Clerk of Court 2-20-2015 

_________________________ 
(your name) 

_________________________ 
(your mailing address) 

_________________________ 
(city)         (state)          (zip) 

_________________________ 
(your phone number) 

Petitioner Pro Se 
 

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

__________________________, 
    (name of person who died) 

                                     Deceased. 

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  
  

Inventory and 
Appraisement  

 

The appointed personal representative of Decedent’s Estate is  

________________________________. 
(your name) 

 

Below is the inventory and appraisement of the estate of the person who died as 

required by Montana law: 

 

 

 



How To Be a PR For Small Estate, Page 25 of 32, instructions and forms.  © 2010 MT Supreme Court Commission 
on Self-Represented Litigants and MLSA..  06/10/2010.  Revised by Flathead County Clerk of Court 2-20-2015 

Asset 

(write each item or type of 
property in the estate, such 
as “1987 Ford F-150 truck,” 

“General Bank joint 
checking account” 

“assorted clothes” or “25% 
of Lot at 1111 Street.”  

Write “None” if the estate 
does not include the type of 

asset listed in the chart) 

Fair Market 
Value 

(write how 
much each 
item or type 

of property is 
worth) 

Debts Owed On 

Asset, If Any 

(write any money 

owed on the item 

or type of 

property, such as 

“$300 lien by 

Title Loan 

Company”) 

Value of Deceased’s 
Interest Less Liens 
and Encumbrances 

(subtract the debts 
owed from the fair 

market value.  
Multiply the answer 

by the percent of 
the asset owned by 

the person who 
died.) 

House, Land or Building 
Address: 
    

Furniture 

   

Clothing 

   

Appliances 

   

Bank Account 
Bank and Type of account 
(not number): 
 

   

Automobile 
Make: 
Model: 
Year: 
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Asset 
 

Fair Market 
Value 

 

Debts Owed On 

Asset, If Any 

 

Value of Deceased’s 
Interest Less Liens 
and Encumbrances 

 

(List other property, with value, debts, and value of person’s interest, below.) 

    

    

    

    

 

Appraisers (list the name(s) and address(es) of any qualified person(s) with no 

interest in the estate who helped you figure out the value of assets): 
 
______________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________

____________________________. 

 
 
 
Date:  _____________________ Signed: _________________________ 
(mm/dd/yyyy)                                                                          (sign your name) 

 Printed: _________________________ 
                                                                                    (print your name) 
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_________________________ 
(your name) 

_________________________ 
(your mailing address) 

_________________________ 
(city)         (state)          (zip) 

_________________________ 
(your phone number) 

Petitioner Pro Se 
 

 

 

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

__________________________, 
    (name of person who died) 

                                                Deceased. 

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  
  

Full Accounting of 
Administration 

 

The appointed personal representative of Decedent’s Estate is  

________________________________. 
(your name) 

 
Below is the full accounting of administration of the estate of the person who died as 

required by Montana law.  I am sending this accounting to anyone affected by the 

administration of the estate.  I distributed the estate in the following order: 

 
1. Homestead allowance of up to $20,000 of the estate, to a surviving spouse or, 

absent a spouse, to the minor or dependent child(ren) of the person who died;  

2. Family allowance of up to $18,000 of the estate, to a surviving spouse or, absent 

a spouse, to the minor or dependent child(ren) of the person who died or the 

child(ren)’s caretaker;   

3. Exempt property of up to $10,000, to a surviving spouse or, absent a spouse, to 

the child of any age of the person who died; 

4. Administration costs of the estate; 

5. Reasonable funeral expenses; 
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6. Reasonable medical or hospital expenses relating to the last illness of the person 

who died. 

 
Personal Representative Fee (check one box and fill in the blanks that apply.) 

 I am claiming all or part of the personal representative fee.  The estate’s entire 

value was (write the value of the entire estate): $____________.  I can claim up 

to 3% of the first $40,000 plus 2% of any value over $40,000.  But I can only 

claim up to 2% for any part of the estate owned as a life estate in or held in joint 

tenancy by the person who died.  For being personal representative, I am 

claiming a fee of (write the amount of the fee you claim): $_________________.  

I will write this amount as part of the estate’s distribution in the chart below. 

 OR 

 I am not claiming a fee for being personal representative.  By signing this 

document below, I waive my right to claim a fee. 

 
I distributed the estate’s assets as set forth in the chart on the following pages: 

 

Asset 

(write each item or type of 
property in the estate, such 
as “1987 Ford F-150 truck”; 

this list should be exactly the 
same as the list in the 

Inventory and Assessment) 

Person or People Who 
Received Asset  

(write the name of any 
person who now has all or 
part of each asset, such as 

“Seth Son--$2,000 of 
money in account and 

Diane Daughter--$2,000 of 
money in account”) 

Part of the Small Estate 
Distribution (write if you 

gave this asset out as part of 
the homestead allowance, 
family allowance, exempt 

property, cost of closing the 
estate, reasonable funeral 
expense, or reasonable 

medical expense)  

House 
Address: 
 

 

 

Furniture  
 

Clothing  
 

Appliances  
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Bank Account 
Type: 
Bank: 

 

 

Automobile 
Make: 
Model: 
Year: 

 

 

(List any other property, with its new owner and part of the estate distribution, in the boxes 
below.) 

  
 

  
 

  
 

Asset Person or People Who 
Received Asset 

Part of the Small Estate 
Distribution 

  
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

 
 
 
Date:  _____________________ Signed: _________________________ 
(mm/dd/yyyy)                                                                          (sign your name) 

 Printed: _________________________ 
                                                                                    (print your name) 
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_________________________ 
(your name) 

_________________________ 
(your mailing address) 

_________________________ 
(city)         (state)          (zip) 

_________________________ 
(your phone number) 

Petitioner Pro Se 
 

Montana 11th Judicial District Court, Flathead County 

In the Matter of the Estate of  

 

__________________________, 
    (name of person who died) 

                                       Deceased. 

 

 

 

Cause No.: _________________  
  

Personal Representative’s 
Verified Closing 
Statement  

I am the Personal representative for the above-referenced Decedent’s estate.  This is 
my sworn statement to close the estate: 
 
1. As far as I know, the value of the estate of the person who died, subtracting liens 

and encumbrances, does not exceed the homestead allowance, exempt property, 
family allowance, costs and expenses of administration, reasonable funeral 
expenses, and reasonable, necessary medical and hospital expenses for the 
deceased person. 
 

2. I fully administered the estate.  I distributed and disbursed the estate to the people 
who were entitled to it.  If estate taxes were due, I paid them. 
 

3. I have sent a copy of this closing statement to everyone who received any part of the 
estate, and to all creditors or other claimants whose claims have not been paid and 
are not barred.  I have given a full account in writing of the administration to any 
person affected by the administration of the estate.   
 

Date:  _____________________ Signed: _________________________ 
(mm/dd/yyyy)                                                                          (sign your name) 

 Printed: _________________________ 
                                                                                    (print your name) 

I do hereby depose and say that I have read the foregoing and that the facts and matters 
contained therein are true, accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I 
declare under penalty of perjury and under the laws of the State of Montana that the foregoing is 
true and correct.   
 ____________________________ 
 (your signature) 
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DEED OF DISTRIBUTION 

(This document does not go to the clerk of district court.  Record the completed deed at 
the clerk and recorder’s office.) 
 
This deed is signed and delivered on __________ by______________________ 

     (mm/dd/yyyy)(your name) 

as the personal representative of the estate of ___________________________,  
(name of the person who died)  based on the following: 

___________________________ died on __________.  Proceedings for  
  (name of the person who died)  (mm/dd/yyyy) 

administration of the estate were filed as Cause No. ___________in the _______                 
(on court papers)     (number) 

Judicial District Court,__________________ County, Montana.  The personal  (county) 

representative has determined the persons entitled to distribution of the estate 

according to law.  

 
To distribute the property properly, the person signing below, as personal 

representative, assigns, transfers, and conveys to  

___________________________________, of 
(person you are transferring the property to) 

____________________________________________, all of the property 
(address of person you are transferring the property to) 

interests of the person who died in the real property  in ____________________ 
(county where property is) 

County, Montana described in “Exhibit A” attached to this document. (Print out a full 

legal description of the property being transferred.  Write “Exhibit A” on the printout of 

the description.  Attach the description to this deed of distribution.)  

 
 

TO HAVE AND TO HOLD to the distributee(s), distributee(s)’ heirs, 

successors, and assigns, forever. 

DATED: ______________________, 20____ 
                                      (date signed) 
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Signed: ____________________________________ 
    (sign your name in front of notary public) 

 

Printed:____________________________________ 

         

(Rest of form to be filled out by Notary Public.) 
 
STATE OF MONTANA 
        :ss 
County of __________ 

  
SIGNED AND SWORN to before me on this _____ day of __________, 20___ 
 
by ___________________________. 
   (name of personal representative) 
 

________________________________ 
Name (Printed): ___________________ 

(SEAL)Notary Public for the State of Montana 
Residing at ______________________ 
My Commission Expires_____________ 


